Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Noob home network questions

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.

Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Networking
Register FAQ Community Calendar

Noob home network questions

Old 11-11-2008, 14:55   #1
theDUFF
Inactive

theDUFF is an unknown quantity at this point
Noob home network questions

All,

I am looking for some advice on cabling installing a data/video network in my flat. I am a complete noob at this and I’m not even sure if this is the right place to post .

It’s a two bed flat on which, at rather short notice, I am having some building work done. Among other things the flat is being rewired. This looks like the perfect opportunity to install the cabled network have always wanted.

I also like some scope to upgrade it in the future so I’m thinking of putting in some redundant features now, for use later. Unfortunately keeping costs down is important as I am low on cash due to the ongoing works. Alas I cannot afford an all singing structured cabling solution at the moment.

I’m mainly interested in getting a data network in place. It would be nice to have some video/audio/telephone distribution but I’m NOT likely to be interested in things like controlling light switches and air con or having a wall mounted touch screen TV to open my curtains. It would be fun, but I just don’t have the money.