Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Networking

[GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 28-03-2010, 02:02   #16
Ed2020
Inactive
 
Join Date: May 2007
Services: Virgin Media XL package.
Posts: 272
Ed2020 is a name known to allEd2020 is a name known to allEd2020 is a name known to allEd2020 is a name known to allEd2020 is a name known to allEd2020 is a name known to allEd2020 is a name known to allEd2020 is a name known to all
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toto View Post
Can I ask, being an owner of said router, is there any real advantage to this third party firmware change?
It's more securable, it's more stable, and it provides features on a cheap home router that you wouldn't ordinarily find outside of a corporate environment.

The only thing I would say is it's more difficult to configure than the stock firmware (or perhaps "it's easier tot get it wrong" would be a better way of putting it). There are simpler alternatives that provide the stability and security and some of the features - OpenWRT and Tomato are both worth a look as well (not sure whether both of these are compatible with your router though.

A word of advice to anyone considering installing DD-WRT - please check the list of supported hardware very carefully. Check the model and hardware version number of your device before installing.

Ed.
Ed2020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 28-03-2010, 04:56   #17
electromagnet
Inactive
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
electromagnet is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

I am thinking of upgrading the firmware following your guide, but I want to know if it is possible to perform a hard-reset and put back the original firmware if something goes wrong?
electromagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2010, 10:05   #18
Ed2020
Inactive
 
Join Date: May 2007
Services: Virgin Media XL package.
Posts: 272
Ed2020 is a name known to allEd2020 is a name known to allEd2020 is a name known to allEd2020 is a name known to allEd2020 is a name known to allEd2020 is a name known to allEd2020 is a name known to allEd2020 is a name known to all
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

Quote:
Originally Posted by electromagnet View Post
I am thinking of upgrading the firmware following your guide, but I want to know if it is possible to perform a hard-reset and put back the original firmware if something goes wrong?
Maybe. It depends to what extent things go wrong. You can reinstall the stock firmware over the top of DD-WRT if you decide you don't like it, of if some of the features aren't working correctly, but if the installation of DD-WRT is totally borked then you may end up bricking your router.

I've installed DD-WRT several times and never had a problem with it. Follow the instructions and I don't think you'll have a problem.

Ed.
Ed2020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2010, 11:35   #19
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 60
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (1000 Mbps) : Aquiss FTTP (330 Mbps)
Posts: 26,974
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

Quote:
Originally Posted by electromagnet View Post
I am thinking of upgrading the firmware following your guide, but I want to know if it is possible to perform a hard-reset and put back the original firmware if something goes wrong?
You cannot put the original virgin firmware back because no one has an image of it - you can however put the proper DLink 4.11 firmware back.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2010, 11:46   #20
xpod
Inactive
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scotlands biggest region
Services: TV,Phone & BB
Posts: 2,086
xpod has a bronzed appealxpod has a bronzed appeal
xpod has a bronzed appealxpod has a bronzed appealxpod has a bronzed appealxpod has a bronzed appealxpod has a bronzed appealxpod has a bronzed appealxpod has a bronzed appealxpod has a bronzed appealxpod has a bronzed appeal
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

Just as with trying new computer operating systems for the first time it might be a good idea for people to get a spare router for trying out any third party router firmware for the first time.

Get on Ebay or somewhere and buy a couple of cheap supported models for whichever firmware/s you want to try out.
xpod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2010, 13:04   #21
electromagnet
Inactive
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
electromagnet is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

ok thanks for clarifying it for me. I'm going to try this guide later after i finish some uni work lol. If it bricks my router i dont mind so much since the wireless connection is too unstable with the virgin firmware so I would rather buy a better router if thats my only option. It started disconnecting a lot whilst downloading torrents and stuff in the past few days, but prior to that it was working fine under the same conditions so I don't understand why. It is definately the DIR-615 that is at fault since hooking up to the cable modem directly is fine and unplugging the DIR-615 resets it and it works again for a short period before the same thing happens.
electromagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2010, 22:58   #22
electromagnet
Inactive
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
electromagnet is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

i installed it now and it went well Had some problems at first but now i found some good settings and its a lot more stable
electromagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2010, 09:40   #23
deuse
Inactive
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 44
deuse is on a distinguished roaddeuse is on a distinguished road
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

Delete please.
deuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2010, 18:35   #24
Intense
Inactive
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Intense is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

are the speeds good? and does the wireless repeater function work? i just ordered one and was ready to cancel if it sucks, but it looks like they JUST shipped it, within 2 hours of ordering, that's what i call QUALITY SERVICE
Intense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2010, 10:37   #25
electromagnet
Inactive
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
electromagnet is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

damn i have some problems again now and i cant get it to work. i think the original firmware worked a little better for me but i tried to install it and it says "upgrade failed", how can i downgrade back to the dlink firmware?
electromagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2010, 10:49   #26
Acathla
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,354
Acathla has reached the bronze age
Acathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze age
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

at what stage does update fail?

Are you doing the correct file at the correct time?
Acathla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2010, 10:54   #27
electromagnet
Inactive
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
electromagnet is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

forget that last post, just after i posted it i managed to boot into the emergency room recovery mode which i tried before but i did it wrong first time. Now i have flashed to the 4.11 latest dlink firmware although i have an image of the original virgin media firmware too just incase, cos you can actually get it from dlink ftp site ftp://ftp.dlink.co.uk/Virgin_Media/F...1.00VG_B02.bin
electromagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2010, 17:24   #28
DemonTraitor
Inactive
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
DemonTraitor is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

I am trying to load the first "FACTORY" file, and all I am getting is this :/

"The chosen file is not a valid firmware image file"
DemonTraitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2010, 17:33   #29
Acathla
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,354
Acathla has reached the bronze age
Acathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze ageAcathla has reached the bronze age
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

hmm have you tried things like downloading it again in case you got a corrupt download?

Are you definitely running the VM Firmware on your DIR-615?

---------- Post added at 17:33 ---------- Previous post was at 17:31 ----------

Checksums of both files:

File: dlink-revb-factory-webflash.bin
CRC-32: 1a7e95fd
MD4: ea163366aa7f56b963e8eb130533ca91
MD5: 50bc87cbd3bf3f6a55981be010c81cb5
SHA-1: 4da866a58fe1c4facd0f8dd166a838b83e166c1a



File: dir615d2-revb-ddwrt-webflash.bin
CRC-32: efe455b3
MD4: 475195f05b5202290decd05cf9de865d
MD5: d3380b515698cd7511ed4931a32d5779
SHA-1: 6258581319311c775c559960d1346ef632dd7847
Acathla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2010, 18:05   #30
DemonTraitor
Inactive
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
DemonTraitor is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: [GUIDE] Dir-615 to dd-wrt

I had installed d-link 4.11, but reverted it back to the VM one on this thread....

My current FW: Firmware Version : 1.00VG

Checksums look perfect

---------- Post added at 18:04 ---------- Previous post was at 17:52 ----------

Actually: looks like you have the checksum info the wrong way round, and there are discrepancies in one of the files...

dlink-revb-factory-webflash.bin
CRC32: efe455b3
Md4: 475195f05b5202290decd05cf9de865d
MD5: d3380b515698cd7511ed4931a32d5779
SHA1: 6258581319311c775c559960d1346ef632dd7847

dir615d2-revb-ddwrt-webflash.bin
CRC32: c06b8735
MD4: 3b21a4cbafa76a6275fa830d1bb7fcc0
MD5: ec408bf54e85686107a1eef1bfb263c4
SHA1: 52bfc29b8bf60d40690076cdcf8b4b02a5ec8c79

......

:/

---------- Post added at 18:05 ---------- Previous post was at 18:04 ----------

PS. Thanks for the quick response...
DemonTraitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:54.


Server: osmium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.