Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Just because ---- openreach, sky , talk talk etc

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Internet Discussion

Just because ---- openreach, sky , talk talk etc
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-03-2022, 22:38   #16
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 66
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 100Mb service.
Posts: 11,011
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
Re: Just because ---- openreach, sky , talk talk etc

Quote:
Originally Posted by Itshim View Post
What I was curious about is this , electricity is provided by whom ever you buy it from but it is not what you get to use. So buy green does not mean you get green. Try to put my first question as simply as I can. Sign with say Vodafone , you pay them but at what point do they and their kit,( on leaving or entering your house ) take control .router excluded. The pole is openreach as is I guess the exchange , does it then get separated and sent on to them ? Or is it just all done by openreach ? And really just down to them to do all the "hard" wiring / sending it around the internet
Electricity is provided by the national grid (or power gen as I think it's called now.), you pay the company you selected for it who in turn pay the national grid for the supply.

If you want to know if your internet supplier goes via Openreach or their own equipment/network just do a tracert to bbc.co.uk and check the IP addys.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 25-04-2022, 06:34   #17
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 70
Services: XL Phone, XXXL Gig1 BB SH4 (wired).
Posts: 2,698
alanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these parts
Re: Just because ---- openreach, sky , talk talk etc

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul View Post
That isnt what you asked.


Generally, the only equipment belonging to the provider is the router they give you.
Paul I thought ISPs install their own equipment at the exchange to facilitate their services?
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2022, 11:43   #18
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 66
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 100Mb service.
Posts: 11,011
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
Re: Just because ---- openreach, sky , talk talk etc

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanbjames View Post
Paul I thought ISPs install their own equipment at the exchange to facilitate their services?
That was/is the case for ADSL services where the connection was direct to the exchange. Now where FTTC/FTTP is provided it is different.

The handover now occurs at the headend which may/may not be the exchange in the local area (LLU was local loop unbundling). It will still continue via the Openreach fibre network unless the provider has run thier own fibre opric line (doubtful) to the headend. ( I should imagime they would lease an Openreach FO line)

That said, Openreach have plenty of what is refered to as "Dark fibre" for a number of years.

Add to that the testing of XPON on their network means symetrical speeds are attainable on the existing network.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:22.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.