Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-06-2021, 15:38   #31
Robertus
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 144
Robertus is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synthetic View Post
Easiest way to test - https://1.1.1.1/help

Yes i'll post my finding over there too
Do you know of any good guides to install cloudflared on a synology NAS running docker and pihole?

Also thanks for posting.
Robertus is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 08-06-2021, 21:33   #32
Skie
a giant headend
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,111
Skie has reached the bronze age
Skie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze age
Re: Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion

The DNS hijacking is probably also how they enforce blocking of websites for IWF and High Court orders.

Once browsers and OS's begin enabling more secure DNS lookups by default that might get fun.
Skie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2021, 07:01   #33
Synthetic
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 724
Synthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to all
Re: Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robertus View Post
Do you know of any good guides to install cloudflared on a synology NAS running docker and pihole?

Also thanks for posting.
Just the guides on the pihole wiki, it covers various architectures, as long as you have some kind of cli access you should be able to configure it

https://docs.pi-hole.net/guides/dns/cloudflared/

---------- Post added at 07:01 ---------- Previous post was at 06:51 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skie View Post
The DNS hijacking is probably also how they enforce blocking of websites for IWF and High Court orders.

Once browsers and OS's begin enabling more secure DNS lookups by default that might get fun.
Had a quick look,

Looks like Virgin are blocking those at the network level via IP, all of the below addresses take me to a virgin blocked page, slightly worrying as those are some of cloudflare's anycast IPs so they're probably blocking some sites they shouldnt be that are behind cloudflare...

; <<>> DiG 9.16.1-Ubuntu <<>> iptorrents.com
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 16734
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 3, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 1

;; OPT PSEUDOSECTION:
; EDNS: version: 0, flags:; udp: 65494
;; QUESTION SECTION:
;iptorrents.com. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
iptorrents.com. 81 IN A 104.20.222.73
iptorrents.com. 81 IN A 104.20.223.73
iptorrents.com. 81 IN A 172.67.3.170
Synthetic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2021, 15:18   #34
Robertus
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 144
Robertus is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion

So, I have installed Adguard home and pointed my apple tv and PC to it - using DoH etc, BT seems OK however Nowtv is still crap.

Have you seen this behaviour?

https://imgur.com/ZcUj2e1
Robertus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:54   #35
Synthetic
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 724
Synthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to all
Re: Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robertus View Post
So, I have installed Adguard home and pointed my apple tv and PC to it - using DoH etc, BT seems OK however Nowtv is still crap.

Have you seen this behaviour?

https://imgur.com/ZcUj2e1
Not personally, in my testing i found nowtv uses

linear014-gb-hss1-prd-ak.cdn.skycdp.com
and
linear019-gb-hss1-prd-ak.cdn.skycdp.com

for live streaming.

If you do a ping / tracert to those, what IPs do they come back to?
Synthetic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:59   #36
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + 500Mbit BB + SkyQ
Posts: 9,901
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
Re: Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion

C:\WINDOWS\system32>tracert linear014-gb-hss1-prd-ak.cdn.skycdp.com

Tracing route to a1792.w60.akamai.net [176.255.191.144]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms router.asus.com [18.19.1.1]
2 10 ms 8 ms 9 ms 10.53.39.129
3 9 ms 9 ms 10 ms nott-core-2a-xe-1013-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.255.214.129]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 13 ms 14 ms 17 ms tcma5-ic-1-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.174.181]
7 13 ms 12 ms 13 ms cur1-runc2-0-0-cust2.1-3.cable.virginm.net [213.105.20.3]
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 11 ms 13 ms 10 ms host16-rangeF-mcdn.cdn.enlba.isp.sky.com [176.255.191.144]





C:\WINDOWS\system32>tracert linear019-gb-hss1-prd-ak.cdn.skycdp.com

Tracing route to a1931.w60.akamai.net [176.255.191.139]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms router.asus.com [18.19.1.1]
2 34 ms 23 ms 18 ms 10.53.39.129
3 45 ms 41 ms 33 ms nott-core-2a-xe-013-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.254.0.153]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 100 ms 215 ms 184 ms tcma5-ic-1-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.174.181]
7 29 ms 41 ms 72 ms cur1-runc2-0-0-cust2.1-3.cable.virginm.net [213.105.20.3]
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 13 ms 12 ms 10 ms host11-rangeF-mcdn.cdn.enlba.isp.sky.com [176.255.191.139]
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 09:46   #37
Synthetic
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 724
Synthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to all
Re: Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion

So i get a totally different IP Range, and take a much longer route...

Tracing route to a1792.w60.akamai.net [88.221.210.11]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.88.1
2 12 ms 13 ms 10 ms 10.53.34.249
3 15 ms 11 ms 9 ms gate-core-2a-xe-501-0.network.virginmedia.net [82.2.240.105]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 24 ms 23 ms 22 ms 86.85-254-62.static.virginmediabusiness.co.uk [62.254.85.86]
7 * * * Request timed out.
8 25 ms 26 ms 25 ms uk-lon01c-ri2-ae-4-0.aorta.net [84.116.135.50]
9 23 ms 28 ms 21 ms ae-8.a02.londen12.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.66.101]
10 26 ms 26 ms 25 ms ae-0.r20.londen12.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.3.212]
11 30 ms 26 ms 29 ms ae-24.r00.mancen01.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.4.190]
12 25 ms 24 ms 22 ms 212.119.4.98
13 44 ms 33 ms 25 ms r2.man-tcw.exa.net.uk [82.219.45.239]
14 26 ms 22 ms 22 ms r1.man-tcw.exa.net.uk [82.219.44.1]
15 24 ms 27 ms 31 ms r1.lon-the.exa.net.uk [82.219.45.29]
16 26 ms 25 ms 27 ms r2.lon-the.exa.net.uk [82.219.45.94]
17 55 ms 28 ms 30 ms r1.leeds-sc.exa.net.uk [82.219.2.46]
18 46 ms 52 ms 52 ms leeds-transit1.akamai.ce.exa.net.uk [82.219.2.93]
19 31 ms 31 ms 29 ms a88-221-210-11.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com [88.221.210.11]
Synthetic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 13:31   #38
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + 500Mbit BB + SkyQ
Posts: 9,901
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
Re: Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synthetic View Post
So i get a totally different IP Range, and take a much longer route
Well that is google dns and my kick ass Asus router for you :p
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 20:16   #39
Skie
a giant headend
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,111
Skie has reached the bronze age
Skie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze age
Re: Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion

I get yet another route

Tracing route to a1792.w60.akamai.net [2.22.22.210]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms USGGateway [192.168.1.1]
2 10 ms 10 ms 7 ms 10.53.39.21
3 13 ms 10 ms 10 ms pres-core-2b-xe-0011-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.255.65.125]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 21 ms 21 ms 18 ms 86.85-254-62.static.virginmediabusiness.co.uk [62.254.85.86]
6 * * * Request timed out.
7 31 ms 19 ms 22 ms be2871.ccr42.lon13.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.58.185]
8 58 ms 27 ms 27 ms be12489.ccr42.par01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.57.70]
9 36 ms 26 ms 24 ms be2103.ccr32.par04.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.61.22]
10 29 ms 26 ms 25 ms be2151.agr21.par04.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.61.34]
11 27 ms 27 ms 29 ms akamai.demarc.cogentco.com [149.11.114.234]
12 27 ms 29 ms 26 ms a2-22-22-210.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com [2.22.22.210]

Trace complete.
Skie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
Synthetic
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:33.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.