Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Guest Network on wireless question

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Internet Discussion

Guest Network on wireless question
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-06-2022, 13:56   #1
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 71
Services: XL Phone, XXXL Gig1 BB SH4 (wired).
Posts: 2,715
alanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these parts
Guest Network on wireless question

I wish to create a guest network on my router for friends and family to access when they visit.

Now I know the risks with any wireless network when it comes to security but as long as I change the password regularly would it be ok to keep the guest network active instead to have the hassle of activating it every time i have a visitor.
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 04-06-2022, 14:23   #2
GrimUpNorth
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Up North - Where It's Grim
Age: 55
Posts: 1,819
GrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronze
GrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronze
Re: Guest Network on wireless question

Maybe I'm naive, but if I didn't trust them with my WiFi I'd certainly not let them across the threshold.
GrimUpNorth is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2022, 14:31   #3
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Talk-Talk BB (72 Mbps)
Posts: 25,548
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: Guest Network on wireless question

There is no reason you cannot have your guest network permanently enabled, with security.

Technically, I have my Guest network permanently enabled, with encryption, and a password.
This is becasue you cannot split the 2.4GHz and 5GHz networks out on my Deco system any other way.

I have one SSID for 2.4GHz network , and a different SSID for the 5GHz network.
Having both on the same SSID casues a few issues with smart devices that only do 2.4GHz.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2022, 23:50   #4
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 71
Services: XL Phone, XXXL Gig1 BB SH4 (wired).
Posts: 2,715
alanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these parts
Re: Guest Network on wireless question

I have now enabled the guest network which has WPA2\WPA3 security and the password is 16 Characters long consisting of upper\lower case letters and is alphanumeric. The password is also a mixture of English & Welsh.

Last edited by alanbjames; 05-06-2022 at 00:00.
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2022, 16:22   #5
Hom3r
Mum 15/08/46 - 30/09/20
 
Hom3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, www.daves-world.co.uk. A secret Moonbase (shh don't tell anybody)
Age: 53
Services: 1 V6, 2x1TB TiVo, SH3. Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, Ton's of Smart Home stuff, & Cuddy Toy
Posts: 16,621
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Guest Network on wireless question

I used an old Nintedo DSi XL, and it didn't like my Routers Security, so I opened my Guest network with no security, but a password, (Yes I know, but it was temporary), the good thing is a Guest network cannot see the other network.
__________________
STAY AT HOME: I found out that mum will never walk again as the coronavirus attacked her nervous system. She died on September 30th, wearing a mask and she still might be alive today.
Hom3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2022, 16:28   #6
Halcyon
Hello !
 
Halcyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: East Midlands
Services: Sky, AppleTV, Netflix
Posts: 16,230
Halcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered stars
Halcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered stars
Re: Guest Network on wireless question

I find the Unify kit pretty good for this sort of stuff....Guest networks with client isolation, block access to the router, etc.
__________________
.
-

Halcyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2022, 21:34   #7
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Talk-Talk BB (72 Mbps)
Posts: 25,548
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: Guest Network on wireless question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hom3r View Post
the good thing is a Guest network cannot see the other network.
You mean on your set-up ?

Its not always the case generally.
Isolation is a setting on my system, and I have it turned off.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2022, 11:09   #8
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 71
Services: XL Phone, XXXL Gig1 BB SH4 (wired).
Posts: 2,715
alanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these partsalanbjames is just so famous around these parts
Re: Guest Network on wireless question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul View Post
You mean on your set-up ?

Its not always the case generally.
Isolation is a setting on my system, and I have it turned off.
I think my setup is the same as yours, isolation is a separate setting.

The router I have is a TPLink AX6000 V1
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2022, 11:50   #9
richair
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Alfreton
Services: Sky
Posts: 2
richair is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Guest Network on wireless question

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanbjames View Post
the password is 16 Characters long consisting of upper\lower case letters and is alphanumeric. The password is also a mixture of English & Welsh.
That would be enough to put me off wanting to use it

Last edited by Hugh; 02-07-2022 at 14:03.
richair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:16.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.