Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | A thread for FreeSat changes

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Alternatives to Virgin Media > Freesat & Freeview

A thread for FreeSat changes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-05-2020, 18:20   #16
cheekyangus
cf.mega poster
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,039
cheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quads
Re: A thread for FreeSat changes

Starz (501) has been removed.

Source : lovinthetelly on Digital Spy

This now leaves only one Music channel on the Freesat EPG. They probably should move it, and the only Sports channel into Entertainment section.
cheekyangus is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 03-05-2020, 13:33   #17
nashville
nashville
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rutherglen. Glasgow
Services: Virgin Media
Posts: 4,977
nashville has a nice shiny star
nashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny star
Re: A thread for FreeSat changes

We need the country station back I really miss it, especially now because the TV is not good just now,
nashville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2020, 14:24   #18
cheekyangus
cf.mega poster
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,039
cheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quads
Re: A thread for FreeSat changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by nashville View Post
We need the country station back I really miss it, especially now because the TV is not good just now,
The one that became Spotlight TV (Keep It Country) or the one that became Now70s channel (Total Country)?

There's supposedly still country musoc on Spotlight.
cheekyangus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2020, 14:44   #19
nashville
nashville
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rutherglen. Glasgow
Services: Virgin Media
Posts: 4,977
nashville has a nice shiny star
nashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny star
Re: A thread for FreeSat changes

The keep it country channel was excellent but for some reason we cannot get it in Glasgow on Freesat and my friends do not get it on Freview either,
nashville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2020, 14:53   #20
Hugh
Hic Sunt Dracones
Cable Forum Team
 
Hugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Age: 65
Services: Premiere Collection
Posts: 38,294
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Re: A thread for FreeSat changes

It moved to Spotlight on Freesat 516, or Freeview Connected 264.

http://spotlighttv.co.uk/

http://spotlighttv.co.uk/what-happened-to-freeview/

Quote:
Despite our best efforts to sustain our presence on FreeView, we were unable to continue to meet the excessively high financial demands. There were still large areas of the country that were unable to receive us without a full re-tune (this was never made clear to us at the time of our agreement) which meant the viewer figures could not build as quickly as was necessary.

For those of you who have ‘smart tv’s’ connected to the internet, you can still get us on FreeView 264 (the Vision TV portal) and we have remained on the Manchester Regional transmitter on FreeView 87.
__________________
There is always light.
If only we’re brave enough to see it.
If only we’re brave enough to be it
.
If my post is in bold and this colour, it's a Moderator Request.
Hugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2020, 15:17   #21
cheekyangus
cf.mega poster
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,039
cheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quads
Re: A thread for FreeSat changes

This from the company that wanted a cut of the License Fee. I don't believe the "never made clear to us at the time of our agreement" bit one jot.

---------- Post added at 14:17 ---------- Previous post was at 14:16 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by nashville View Post
The keep it country channel was excellent but for some reason we cannot get it in Glasgow on Freesat and my friends do not get it on Freview either,
Keep It County renamed itself Spotlight TV. It's still on Freesat. It's just not all country music now.

An internet connected Freeview TV is required for Freeview reception of Spotlight, though some internet Freeview channels don't work on all Freeview internet enabled TVs because of differences in how they are implemented, technology-wise.

Last edited by cheekyangus; 03-05-2020 at 15:22.
cheekyangus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2020, 19:24   #22
nashville
nashville
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rutherglen. Glasgow
Services: Virgin Media
Posts: 4,977
nashville has a nice shiny star
nashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny star
Re: A thread for FreeSat changes

Spotlight on Freesat in our area G73 just reports that the signal is too weak. This is mostly the same throughout Glasgow, yet we always had a great signal for 516 station up until a few years ago,
nashville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2020, 00:09   #23
cheekyangus
cf.mega poster
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,039
cheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quads
Re: A thread for FreeSat changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by nashville View Post
Spotlight on Freesat in our area G73 just reports that the signal is too weak. This is mostly the same throughout Glasgow, yet we always had a great signal for 516 station up until a few years ago,
Kinda sounds like there's something wrong with your satellite, or cabling from it. Or there's something blocking the signal to the dish there wasn't before (e.g. a new building or a tree has grown larger). You could have had water get into a connection in cabling, or in the LNB (the thing on the end of the stick on the dish), these are common problems that accumulate over time.

People in the UK should be able to receive everything no matter the location. That's one of the main advant of satellite TV. It's not like there's a giant tent covering Glasgow.

I'm further north than you and it's fine here.
cheekyangus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2020, 01:48   #24
nashville
nashville
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rutherglen. Glasgow
Services: Virgin Media
Posts: 4,977
nashville has a nice shiny star
nashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny star
Re: A thread for FreeSat changes

It is funny how some people in Glasgow cannot receive the station , I can get other stations.but a few stations it says no signal , No buildings in front of trees, As you say it might be water getting into the connections, But I do not know anyone to check it out or what they will charge, Thanks for your help.
nashville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2020, 10:58   #25
Chris
Trollsplatter
Cable Forum Team
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: North of Watford
Services: Humane elimination of all common Internet pests
Posts: 34,774
Chris has a golden auraChris has a golden aura
Chris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden aura
Re: A thread for FreeSat changes

A dish is supposed to be optimally pointed at the part of the sky where the various sats serving the U.K. are located so it can receive all of them. I understand that that optimal positioning is to almost point it at the spot where our major channels come from, but offset it slightly towards the minor sats where a lot of the small channels live. If your dish shifts over time (which it can do, especially if it tends to be exposed to high winds) then any movement is less likely to compromise BBC and ITV and more likely to affect the smaller specialist channels.
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2020, 11:14   #26
cheekyangus
cf.mega poster
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,039
cheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quads
Re: A thread for FreeSat changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
A dish is supposed to be optimally pointed at the part of the sky where the various sats serving the U.K. are located so it can receive all of them. I understand that that optimal positioning is to almost point it at the spot where our major channels come from, but offset it slightly towards the minor sats where a lot of the small channels live. If your dish shifts over time (which it can do, especially if it tends to be exposed to high winds) then any movement is less likely to compromise BBC and ITV and more likely to affect the smaller specialist channels.
I knew I'd missed something. What Chris says.
cheekyangus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2020, 12:37   #27
nodrogd
cf.mega poster
 
nodrogd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: West Herts
Services: Maxit + Movies/Sports HD (V6x2), BB350, Talk More Anytime. Freeview/Freesat HD, ASDA/Tesco PAYG
Posts: 1,727
nodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpacknodrogd has a very nice sixpack
Re: A thread for FreeSat changes

The transponder operating on frequency 11081 H also carries CNN & Blaze. If these also have issues then you definitely need the dish looking at. It could be deterioration of the dish, LNB or cable, but is more likely an alignment problem. An aerial rigger could sort it in minutes with the correct kit.

Country music on TV does not make money. I had a chat with the CEO of Spotlight a while ago & the outlay for an ongoing slot on SDN was in excess of 4 million a year. Hence the reason for the use of an IP slot plus the Manchester mini-mux. They remain on Freesat/Sky as this gives easy access to the Irish Republic as well as the UK. With no space for terrestrial in Ireland itself there was no other option for broadcast.

The radio side on the other hand is booming. With Country Hits Radio now available on DAB in most Scottish & northern England local muxes, Smooth Country in the south of England & Midlands, & Chris Country on loads of mini-muxes, local DAB in London & several other areas.
nodrogd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2020, 13:16   #28
nashville
nashville
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rutherglen. Glasgow
Services: Virgin Media
Posts: 4,977
nashville has a nice shiny star
nashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny starnashville has a nice shiny star
Re: A thread for FreeSat changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by nodrogd View Post
The transponder operating on frequency 11081 H also carries CNN & Blaze. If these also have issues then you definitely need the dish looking at. It could be deterioration of the dish, LNB or cable, but is more likely an alignment problem. An aerial rigger could sort it in minutes with the correct kit.

Country music on TV does not make money. I had a chat with the CEO of Spotlight a while ago & the outlay for an ongoing slot on SDN was in excess of 4 million a year. Hence the reason for the use of an IP slot plus the Manchester mini-mux. They remain on Freesat/Sky as this gives easy access to the Irish Republic as well as the UK. With no space for terrestrial in Ireland itself there was no other option for broadcast.

The radio side on the other hand is booming. With Country Hits Radio now available on DAB in most Scottish & northern England local muxes, Smooth Country in the south of England & Midlands, & Chris Country on loads of mini-muxes, local DAB in London & several other areas.
Ok Thanks ,
nashville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2020, 14:46   #29
cheekyangus
cf.mega poster
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,039
cheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quads
Re: A thread for FreeSat changes

140 - BET has been removed

Source : lovinthetelly on Digital Spy.

It's owned by ViacomCBS, for those that didn't know, so maybe since they are involved with Channel 5 and Smithsonian, maybe its EPG place will be reused for something else they run.​ Maybe Smithsonian will move up? It's currently second bottom of the Freesat Entertainment section.

Last edited by cheekyangus; 06-05-2020 at 14:50. Reason: Accuracy.
cheekyangus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2020, 20:39   #30
cheekyangus
cf.mega poster
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,039
cheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quads
Re: A thread for FreeSat changes

According to RXTVlog, Pick TV HD will be on channel 147 on Freesat, the recently closed Challenge+1's old number.

https://www.rxtvlog.com/2020/0…es-hd...mplex-pre.html


Additional: it seems that on Freesat the HD version of the channel will be the only version on Freesat that has the Premier League football. The SD and +1 will be showing the non-football version of the channel.

The HD version is on a UK spotbeam, the SD versions on Freesat are on a wider spotbeam. So the difference is rights-related.
cheekyangus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:46.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.