Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Newbie network install query

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.

Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Networking
Register FAQ Community Calendar

Newbie network install query

Old 08-10-2007, 15:24   #1
rayd
Inactive

rayd is an unknown quantity at this point
Newbie network install query

I'm new to cable broadband but am having the 4Mb service installed on Friday ... I hope.

At the moment I have a very slow ADSL service, which is why I'm changing. I have an adsl router feeding two wired and a wireless computer, plus a VoIP adaptor.

When I get the cable broadband installed on Friday, will the installer connect it to a cable router (which I can provide), or will I have to do that myself after he's just connected it to one computer?

Is it just a matter of plugging the cable modem wire into the WAN input on the router, or are there any settings I need to make?

I've looked on the Virginmedia website, but can't find any useful information. I'va also tried a search her, but can't find anything specific.

Any information or useful links would be appreciated.

Ray D
rayd is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 08-10-2007, 15:27   #2
Tali
cf.addict

Tali has a spectacular aura about themTali has a spectacular aura about themTali has a spectacular aura about themTali has a spectacular aura about them
Re: Newbie network install query