Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | VOIP

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Fixed Phone Service

VOIP
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17-10-2022, 19:58   #16
Dude111
An Awesome Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,100
Dude111 has reached the bronze age
Dude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze age
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardCoulter
I am and i'm dreading this. I believe that vulnerable customers are given a back up battery in case of power cuts, but what's the use of this if it's the broadband that's down?
Everytime the power goes out we lose our phone... Yes we have a battery but the company does not keep the amps active so it doesnt work........ (I think 1 time I remember they did activate the amps about 20 mins after power dropped)

It really does suck,not a good phone system at all!!!
Dude111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 30-10-2022, 13:58   #17
Hom3r
Mum 15/08/46 - 30/09/20
 
Hom3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, www.daves-world.co.uk. A secret Moonbase (shh don't tell anybody)
Age: 53
Services: 1 V6, 2x1TB TiVo, SH3. Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, Ton's of Smart Home stuff, & Cuddy Toy
Posts: 16,656
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Re: VOIP

Am I right in thinking that the VOIP sound is poor quality?
__________________
STAY AT HOME: I found out that mum will never walk again as the coronavirus attacked her nervous system. She died on September 30th, wearing a mask and she still might be alive today.
Hom3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2022, 19:21   #18
ozsat
cf.mega poster
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Oxford (area 31)
Services: 1.2Gb/55Mb, VMTV (UHD/HDR), Freesat HD, Freeview HD, SkyQ (UHD/HDR), BTtv (UHD/HDR), DAB+
Posts: 1,692
ozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these parts
Re: VOIP

I didn't notice a drop when I changed over

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hom3r View Post
Am I right in thinking that the VOIP sound is poor quality?
ozsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2022, 23:54   #19
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 60
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Talk-Talk FTTP (150 Mbps)
Posts: 26,105
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: VOIP

I would expect them to be better, not worse, the frequency spread of standard phone calls is very narrow (300 Hz to 3.4 kHz) thats why the always sound like they do.

I would hope VOIP does better. I certainly notice that calls using the internet on other systems (like skype, teams etc) sound far better than standard phone calls.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2022, 18:06   #20
Mad Max
cf.mega poster
 
Mad Max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3,971
Mad Max has a bronze arrayMad Max has a bronze arrayMad Max has a bronze array
Mad Max has a bronze arrayMad Max has a bronze arrayMad Max has a bronze arrayMad Max has a bronze arrayMad Max has a bronze arrayMad Max has a bronze arrayMad Max has a bronze arrayMad Max has a bronze arrayMad Max has a bronze arrayMad Max has a bronze arrayMad Max has a bronze array
Re: VOIP

I think it's fine, no sound loss or any interference.
Mad Max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2022, 18:44   #21
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: 360 x2, Maxit TV, Sky Sports and Sky Cinema. Gig1
Posts: 17,838
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: VOIP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul View Post
I would hope VOIP does better.
As far as I understand it the Hub based lines currently aim to replicate the analogue service as much as possible to ensure compatibility with existing analogue line handsets.

Some other solutions deployed by BT / Openreach need new devices that are IP to the handset and offer 'HD' call quality due to that, but as far as I can see only work with the ISP specific Hub.

Personal view is that once all (or most) customers are moved to the Hub based lines, then Virgin Media will look at how and whether it's worth doing the same.
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2022, 19:44   #22
Itshim
Do I care what you think
 
Itshim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cardiff South Wales
Age: 72
Services: V6 ,Virgin L. Phone Broadband.sky go Netflix
Posts: 3,671
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Re: VOIP

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenMcr View Post
You'll be required to at some point to make a choice. If you keep the SH2 then your line will be disconnected and your bundle adjusted to be for your remaining services
Does that mean a reduction of the bill, from memory phone line is 19 per month . Never use it so a welcome saving .
__________________
No point in being pessimistic. You know it won`t work.
Itshim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2022, 00:32   #23
Dude111
An Awesome Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,100
Dude111 has reached the bronze age
Dude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze age
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hom3r
Am I right in thinking that the VOIP sound is poor quality?
Yes in my opinion... I was recently at a friends house who is on a DMS 100 switch (Same one I was on in the 90s) and the quality is absolutely goregous compared to this cable system trash!!
Dude111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2022, 04:54   #24
MacmillaN
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Perth,UK
Services: TIVO 500GB-V+ HD, TV Size XL +SKYSPORTS/MOVIES VIVID Phone Size M
Posts: 171
MacmillaN is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: VOIP

Due to the supposed change to the Telephone line, My hub is in a back bedroom and i have two telephone sockets in the property(Living room and kitchen), ideally i would like to keep the router where it is so i am looking into upgrading the handset to a phone which has a base station to connect to the router, then two handsets can be placed into both rooms.

Any recommendations?
MacmillaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2022, 23:06   #25
alwaysabear
RIp Sweetness
 
alwaysabear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: S Essex
Services: TiVo Full house sports bundle,Vivid 200, SHUB 3, talk more anytime.
Posts: 2,377
alwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appeal
alwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appeal
Re: VOIP

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacmillaN View Post
Due to the supposed change to the Telephone line, My hub is in a back bedroom and i have two telephone sockets in the property(Living room and kitchen), ideally i would like to keep the router where it is so i am looking into upgrading the handset to a phone which has a base station to connect to the router, then two handsets can be placed into both rooms.

Any recommendations?
I have the set up you are looking at. I have four Panasonic hand sets with a base station spread through out the house and not any problems.

Last edited by alwaysabear; 18-11-2022 at 23:09. Reason: edit
alwaysabear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2022, 18:21   #26
Itshim
Do I care what you think
 
Itshim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cardiff South Wales
Age: 72
Services: V6 ,Virgin L. Phone Broadband.sky go Netflix
Posts: 3,671
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Re: VOIP

Quote:
Originally Posted by alwaysabear View Post
I have the set up you are looking at. I have four Panasonic hand sets with a base station spread through out the house and not any problems.
So do I kitchen bedroom and study , wonder why as it is only ever cold calling . Never use them to make a call and they are Panasonic phones !
__________________
No point in being pessimistic. You know it won`t work.
Itshim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:05.


Server: osmium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.