Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Cable Router Question

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Networking

Cable Router Question
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17-11-2022, 04:54   #1
Corey N Georgie
cf.addict
 
Corey N Georgie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Swansea, South Wales, UK
Age: 42
Services: 1GB Volt, Telephone all Inclusive.
Posts: 190
Corey N Georgie is a jewel in the roughCorey N Georgie is a jewel in the roughCorey N Georgie is a jewel in the roughCorey N Georgie is a jewel in the roughCorey N Georgie is a jewel in the rough
Cable Router Question

I have a question for you all here.

Are there cable routers out there that not only have 2.5GB Wan Ports but 4 x 2.5GB Lan ports to.

I'm not looking to switch yet but maybe for future insurance maybe?
Corey N Georgie is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 17-11-2022, 06:29   #2
Jaymoss
Just a Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3,392
Jaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appeal
Jaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appeal
Re: Cable Router Question

only had a quick look but could only find one and it was 1600. I found a few with dual 2.5/10gbps at a relatively reasonable price.

Do you move that much data? fastest BB in the UK as far as I am aware is 1gbps so no benefit going any higher than gigabit lan and even then to justify it soley for the internet you would need multiple machines hardwired and downloading a lot imo. Only benefit of these types of speed is if you are in a data centre or moving massive files across the network all day every day
__________________
Is your muffin buttered? Would you like me to assign someone to butter your muffin?
Jaymoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2022, 14:48   #3
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 61
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (1000 Mbps) : Aquiss FTTP (330 Mbps)
Posts: 27,188
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: Cable Router Question

Future insurance ? Against what ?
What do you need that kind of speed for at home ?

Also, unless your entire home network is 2.5G or above, there will be little benefit.
Even, then, only your home would be that fast, you wont get anything like 2.5G from your internet connection.

Plus you could always just buy a 2.5G switch.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2022, 18:15   #4
Corey N Georgie
cf.addict
 
Corey N Georgie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Swansea, South Wales, UK
Age: 42
Services: 1GB Volt, Telephone all Inclusive.
Posts: 190
Corey N Georgie is a jewel in the roughCorey N Georgie is a jewel in the roughCorey N Georgie is a jewel in the roughCorey N Georgie is a jewel in the roughCorey N Georgie is a jewel in the rough
Re: Cable Router Question

Paul, I always thought u needed 2.5GB ports on your router to allow the switch to work at 2.5GB.
Corey N Georgie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:45.


Server: osmium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.