Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Router or Modem first

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Networking

Router or Modem first
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-11-2022, 08:13   #1
Corey N Georgie
cf.addict
 
Corey N Georgie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Swansea, South Wales, UK
Age: 41
Services: 1GB Volt, Telephone all Inclusive.
Posts: 129
Corey N Georgie has a spectacular aura about themCorey N Georgie has a spectacular aura about themCorey N Georgie has a spectacular aura about themCorey N Georgie has a spectacular aura about them
Router or Modem first

I have been scouring the net only to basically get conflicting ideas so i want to ask you guys the question that's on my mind.

When restarting the hub and router, first what do you unplug and secondly to restart what do you plug back in first?

Dad always said Router then hub and to restart Hub then router.
Corey N Georgie is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 10-11-2022, 09:26   #2
heero_yuy
Perfect Soldier
 
heero_yuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Worthing West Sussex
Age: 65
Services: VM 500M SH3 thingy in modem mode XL TV V6 Sony Bravia smart TV and M phone
Posts: 10,641
heero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered stars
heero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered stars
Re: Router or Modem first

If either the hub or router/PC are changed then it's hub first until stable and then slave device.

I get the impression that once the devices are paired then the order doesn't matter. We've had a power outage where the lot came back on together without an issue.
__________________
History is much like an endless waltz: The three beats of war, peace and revolution continue on forever.
However history will change with my coronation - Mariemaia Khushrenada
heero_yuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2022, 18:02   #3
Corey N Georgie
cf.addict
 
Corey N Georgie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Swansea, South Wales, UK
Age: 41
Services: 1GB Volt, Telephone all Inclusive.
Posts: 129
Corey N Georgie has a spectacular aura about themCorey N Georgie has a spectacular aura about themCorey N Georgie has a spectacular aura about themCorey N Georgie has a spectacular aura about them
Re: Router or Modem first

I tend to find sometimes that if Router is switched on secondary u don't get a connection.
Corey N Georgie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2022, 19:55   #4
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 60
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Talk-Talk FTTP (150 Mbps)
Posts: 26,378
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: Router or Modem first

This was covered in another topic a couple of weeks ago.

For turning them off, it doesnt really matter, for starting them up, your dad was right.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2022, 09:59   #5
Halcyon
Hello !
 
Halcyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: East Midlands
Services: Sky, AppleTV, Netflix
Posts: 16,417
Halcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered stars
Halcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered stars
Re: Router or Modem first

Doesnt matter what order to turn them off.


For turning on, you want the modem first to get your connection to the Internet ready.


Then the router which will handle giving out addresses to your devices.


And then finally your devices, laptop, phone, etc.
__________________
.
-

Halcyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:08.


Server: osmium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.