Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Moving from VM - keeping landline number

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Fixed Phone Service

Moving from VM - keeping landline number
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-03-2023, 10:34   #1
1andrew1
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 13,136
1andrew1 is cast in bronze1andrew1 is cast in bronze1andrew1 is cast in bronze1andrew1 is cast in bronze
1andrew1 is cast in bronze1andrew1 is cast in bronze1andrew1 is cast in bronze1andrew1 is cast in bronze1andrew1 is cast in bronze
Moving from VM - keeping landline number

My mum is looking to move from VM to Vodafone. She's a pensioner and relies on her landline to stay in touch with her friends and relatives. However, VM is relatively expensive for her needs which are unlimited UK landline calls and basic broadband.

However, when she visited a Vodafone store to enquire about retaining the Virgin Media landline number, they said this could not always be done and they would check. They subsequently phoned her back and confirmed that it could not be ported to them.

Is this normal? I thought under Ofcom rules, landline numbers had to be portable to increase competition.

Background
- She's been with VM when it first came to the area as Nynex. No longer has the TV service.
- She's keen on keeping the landline number so she doesn't lose contact with people. She could obviously write to everybody with a new number but that's a bit of a faff.
-The approximate costs for basic broadband and unlimited calls are VM 51pm (612pa) Vodafone 31pm (372pa).
1andrew1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 14-03-2023, 17:32   #2
punkrock101
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Newtownabbey
Age: 35
Services: Sky Q, Freesat, Sky Gigafast FTTP Broadband, Virgin Gig1
Posts: 98
punkrock101 will become famous soon enoughpunkrock101 will become famous soon enoughpunkrock101 will become famous soon enough
Re: Moving from VM - keeping landline number

You might be able to switch the number to a no contract broadband supplier such as Now TV or Plusnet as they are two I know that offers no contract broadband and telephone then switch to Vodafone,
punkrock101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2023, 18:10   #3
1andrew1
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 13,136
1andrew1 is cast in bronze1andrew1 is cast in bronze1andrew1 is cast in bronze1andrew1 is cast in bronze
1andrew1 is cast in bronze1andrew1 is cast in bronze1andrew1 is cast in bronze1andrew1 is cast in bronze1andrew1 is cast in bronze
Re: Moving from VM - keeping landline number

Thank you. I doubt she would want to do two changes but it might be that another provider could take the number even if Vodafone can't.
1andrew1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:39.


Server: osmium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.