Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Merlin not installing on RT-AX11000

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Networking

2.5GbE switch slower than a cheap gigabit switch
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-10-2022, 21:48   #1
bigsinky
cf.addict
 
bigsinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Belfast
Services: Broadband Gig1
Posts: 270
bigsinky has disabled reputation
2.5GbE switch slower than a cheap gigabit switch

Ok so I connect my cable modem to a 10GbE link on my downstairs switch. This switch has 2x10gbe ports and 4x2.5Gbe ports. I run a cable to my upstairs gigabit switch and get 950mbit to my gaming pc (2.5G be port). I have a new cable modem coming with a 2.5Gbe WAN port next week so I thought I would upgrade my upstairs switch to a 2.5gbe one. It’s an unmanaged switch but when I connect it all up im lucky to see 400mbit download to my gaming pc. Latest network driver for my mobo has been installed. Anyone any ideas what im doing wrong? The light shows a 2.5Gbe connection on the switch but the download speed doesn’t reflect the 950mbit I should be getting. I tried to install Star Wars battlefront. It a 90GB install. Best I could do was 52MB/second from the origin servers. I thought an unmanaged switch was just plug and go so I just wanted to see if there was something I was missing.

Thanks for reading.
bigsinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 15-10-2022, 22:39   #2
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 60
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Talk-Talk FTTP (150 Mbps)
Posts: 26,061
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: 2.5GbE switch slower than a cheap gigabit switch

What makes you certain you are doing anything wrong ?

You may have a 950mbit network, but that doesnt mean everything between you and the server you were downloading from is 1 gbit+, or that you were the only connection/user at the time.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2022, 22:47   #3
Jaymoss
Just a Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2,446
Jaymoss has reached the bronze age
Jaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze age
Re: 2.5GbE switch slower than a cheap gigabit switch

The only way to check download speed imo is to use a multi threaded download tool a a known good server. I download a fair bit off usenet and I hit a minimum of 4 backbones with a total of 30 connections between them

Of course testing a local network would be copying large files over it. Do you have a local network or is it just internet?
__________________
Is your muffin buttered? Would you like me to assign someone to butter your muffin?
Jaymoss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2022, 23:31   #4
bigsinky
cf.addict
 
bigsinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Belfast
Services: Broadband Gig1
Posts: 270
bigsinky has disabled reputation
Re: 2.5GbE switch slower than a cheap gigabit switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaymoss View Post
The only way to check download speed imo is to use a multi threaded download tool a a known good server. I download a fair bit off usenet and I hit a minimum of 4 backbones with a total of 30 connections between them

Of course testing a local network would be copying large files over it. Do you have a local network or is it just internet?
just internet. i used samknows an get 1150 to the router but only 450 to the pc. when i switched back to the gigabit router im getting 1150 to the router and 945 to the pc. weird or what?
bigsinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2022, 10:48   #5
tweetiepooh
Virgin Media Employee
 
tweetiepooh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Winchester
Services: Staff MyRates BB: VM XXL TV: VM XL Phone : VM XL
Posts: 2,847
tweetiepooh has a bronzed appealtweetiepooh has a bronzed appeal
tweetiepooh has a bronzed appealtweetiepooh has a bronzed appealtweetiepooh has a bronzed appealtweetiepooh has a bronzed appealtweetiepooh has a bronzed appealtweetiepooh has a bronzed appealtweetiepooh has a bronzed appealtweetiepooh has a bronzed appealtweetiepooh has a bronzed appealtweetiepooh has a bronzed appealtweetiepooh has a bronzed appealtweetiepooh has a bronzed appealtweetiepooh has a bronzed appealtweetiepooh has a bronzed appeal
Re: 2.5GbE switch slower than a cheap gigabit switch

The faster/better equipment gets the less forgiving it can get to other factors.
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but reply here in my own right. Any help or advice is made as a best effort basis. No comments construe any obligation on VM or its employees.
tweetiepooh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2022, 00:22   #6
bigsinky
cf.addict
 
bigsinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Belfast
Services: Broadband Gig1
Posts: 270
bigsinky has disabled reputation
Re: 2.5GbE switch slower than a cheap gigabit switch

got it sorted

bigsinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2022, 11:12   #7
GrimUpNorth
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Up North - Where It's Grim
Age: 55
Posts: 1,968
GrimUpNorth has a nice shiny star
GrimUpNorth has a nice shiny starGrimUpNorth has a nice shiny starGrimUpNorth has a nice shiny starGrimUpNorth has a nice shiny starGrimUpNorth has a nice shiny starGrimUpNorth has a nice shiny starGrimUpNorth has a nice shiny star
Re: 2.5GbE switch slower than a cheap gigabit switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigsinky View Post
got it sorted

What was the problem?
GrimUpNorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2022, 14:34   #8
bigsinky
cf.addict
 
bigsinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Belfast
Services: Broadband Gig1
Posts: 270
bigsinky has disabled reputation
Re: 2.5GbE switch slower than a cheap gigabit switch

I was pulling my hair out trying to work it out. checked my mobo website an isnt there a new LAN driver from august. installed it and it just worked.
bigsinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:03.


Server: osmium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.