Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Another NTL wireless setup issue - please help if you can???

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.

Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Networking
Register FAQ Community Calendar

Another NTL wireless setup issue - please help if you can???

Old 14-03-2006, 19:23   #1
nbradon
Inactive

nbradon is an unknown quantity at this point
Unhappy Another NTL wireless setup issue - please help if you can???

Hello

I'm a newbie. This is driving me mad. Here's my story. I'm in Ireland if that makes a difference??

I know there have been several posts regarding wireless, but I can't find my answer and am now desparate.

1. Bought a new computer (Intel Dual Core - lovely).
2. Configured by NTL cable modem from USB to Ethernet with no CD, i.e. just followed Internet tips. As I sit, I am on the internet via cable modem (NTL home:120) with no issues.
3. I decide to go hi tech and buy a wireless router. Plan is to link to new PC via ethernet still from router and use my laptop for wireless.
4. I bought a Belkin 802.11g Wireless G Router. Big PC chain told me this would work. This is after 5 people in shop couldn't help. Of the 2 that did, 1 handed me an ASDL router which I definetely didn't want!! I was told the wireless G will work with NTL.
5. Followed the easy setup (yeah easy not quite!!).
6. Learning from a friend of friend, he stated that I should set up IP address as PPPoe.
7. Asked for a password and username. SEE BELOW