Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | 5g question

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Mobile Phone Service

5g question
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2021, 15:23   #1
trublue
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North West
Services: Virgin XL TV with Tivo 30meg B/B
Posts: 142
trublue is an unknown quantity at this point
5g question

I have my own 5g compatible phone, an oomph 15GB monthly sim plan and I have a strong 5g signal in my area. How come then, I can only pick up 4g?I assume 5g on Virgin is not an extra and as far as I know, all sims are 5g ready?
trublue is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 12-04-2021, 15:30   #2
Chris
Trollsplatter
Cable Forum Team
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: North of Watford
Services: Humane elimination of all common Internet pests
Posts: 34,618
Chris has a golden auraChris has a golden aura
Chris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden aura
Re: 5g question

From https://www.virginmedia.com/mobile/5g#getitm

Quote:
If you’ve already got an eligible mobile plan with us, we’ll upgrade you to 5G at no extra cost, as soon as it’s available. All you’ll need is a 5G-ready device you bought from us.
“You bought from us” is a bit ominous.... did you get your phone from Virgin? It sounds like they’re giving themselves an “out”.
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2021, 15:45   #3
trublue
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North West
Services: Virgin XL TV with Tivo 30meg B/B
Posts: 142
trublue is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: 5g question

Thanks for the quick reply, Chris.

Ah, no, I didn't buy it from Virgin. But in the link you posted, it states this" Meet 5G – our next-generation mobile experience, all yours when you grab a 5G phone or 5G-ready SIM".
All sims are 5g ready according to CS, so I should be able to get it.
trublue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2021, 15:50   #4
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 65
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 10,579
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
Re: 5g question

Quote:
Originally Posted by trublue View Post
Thanks for the quick reply, Chris.

Ah, no, I didn't buy it from Virgin. But in the link you posted, it states this" Meet 5G – our next-generation mobile experience, all yours when you grab a 5G phone or 5G-ready SIM".
All sims are 5g ready according to CS, so I should be able to get it.
Can you get it in your ares though?

https://www.virginmedia.com/mobile/5g#getitm
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2021, 16:07   #5
trublue
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North West
Services: Virgin XL TV with Tivo 30meg B/B
Posts: 142
trublue is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: 5g question

Yes,well I think so.After entering my postcode it opens up with 4g highlighted,if I move down to 5G it's a smaller area but within where I live.It says,good indoors and outdoors.
trublue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2021, 18:30   #6
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 65
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 10,579
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
Re: 5g question

Quote:
Originally Posted by trublue View Post
Yes,well I think so.After entering my postcode it opens up with 4g highlighted,if I move down to 5G it's a smaller area but within where I live.It says,good indoors and outdoors.

Have you done this?

Quote:
Already with us? Go to My Virgin Media to see if 5G is in your area and how to upgrade
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2021, 18:44   #7
Hugh
Hic Sunt Dracones
Cable Forum Team
 
Hugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Age: 64
Services: Premiere Collection
Posts: 37,790
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Re: 5g question

How long have you had your sim?

Might be worth checking it’s "5G ready".
__________________
There is always light.
If only we’re brave enough to see it.
If only we’re brave enough to be it
.
If my post is in bold and this colour, it's a Moderator Request.
Hugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2021, 21:05   #8
trublue
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North West
Services: Virgin XL TV with Tivo 30meg B/B
Posts: 142
trublue is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: 5g question

Thanks, guys. I have had the sim for a couple of years but recently changed it because it was faulty. I asked if the new sim was 5g and was told, all sims are 5g compatible.
I followed that link pip08456, it just took me round in circles.
I have since phoned CS, but sorry to say, I found it hard to understand what she was saying. The funny thing is when I check using my postcode it says 5G is available, but the list of all the cities and towns that can get it does not mention my home town, Blackburn.
trublue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2021, 07:11   #9
jb66
cf.mega poster
 
jb66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5,374
jb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze array
jb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze array
Re: 5g question

Quote:
Originally Posted by trublue View Post
Thanks, guys. I have had the sim for a couple of years but recently changed it because it was faulty. I asked if the new sim was 5g and was told, all sims are 5g compatible.
I followed that link pip08456, it just took me round in circles.
I have since phoned CS, but sorry to say, I found it hard to understand what she was saying. The funny thing is when I check using my postcode it says 5G is available, but the list of all the cities and towns that can get it does not mention my home town, Blackburn.
Your probs still on the EE 4G network and not the vodafone 5g.
jb66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2021, 10:06   #10
trublue
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North West
Services: Virgin XL TV with Tivo 30meg B/B
Posts: 142
trublue is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: 5g question

Ah right,that's a bummer.Thanks jb66
trublue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2021, 10:52   #11
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: V6 x2, Maxit TV, Sky Sports and Sky Cinema. Gig1
Posts: 17,334
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: 5g question

Quote:
Originally Posted by trublue View Post
Thanks, guys. I have had the sim for a couple of years but recently changed it because it was faulty. I asked if the new sim was 5g and was told, all sims are 5g compatible.
I followed that link pip08456, it just took me round in circles.
I have since phoned CS, but sorry to say, I found it hard to understand what she was saying. The funny thing is when I check using my postcode it says 5G is available, but the list of all the cities and towns that can get it does not mention my home town, Blackburn.
If you log into the Your Account site and use the 'Coverage checker' link, it'll go to the right one for the radio network you're on.
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2021, 11:17   #12
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 65
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 10,579
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
Re: 5g question

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenMcr View Post
If you log into the Your Account site and use the 'Coverage checker' link, it'll go to the right one for the radio network you're on.
You mean here Ben?

Quote:
Already with us? Go to My Virgin Media to see if 5G is in your area and how to upgrade
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2021, 11:41   #13
trublue
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North West
Services: Virgin XL TV with Tivo 30meg B/B
Posts: 142
trublue is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: 5g question

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenMcr View Post
If you log into the Your Account site and use the 'Coverage checker' link, it'll go to the right one for the radio network you're on.
Thanks, Ben,as I mentioned earlier,the checker does open highlighting 4g,but it allows you to move down to 5g which also shows available.No biggie,I will wait until it fully arrives in my area.
trublue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2021, 11:42   #14
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: V6 x2, Maxit TV, Sky Sports and Sky Cinema. Gig1
Posts: 17,334
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: 5g question

Quote:
Originally Posted by pip08456 View Post
You mean here Ben?
I mean the link in the image for the mobile number in question.

If your SIM is on the EE radio network you'll get a checker page which starts with
Quote:
Check your signal strength
Search by postcode or place, and check if you are well covered by 4G, 3G and 2G.
If you're on the Vodafone radio network it says
Quote:
Our next-generation 5G mobile experience has you covered
Attached Images
File Type: png coverage.PNG (38.6 KB, 21 views)
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.

Last edited by BenMcr; 13-04-2021 at 12:05.
BenMcr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2021, 11:44   #15
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: V6 x2, Maxit TV, Sky Sports and Sky Cinema. Gig1
Posts: 17,334
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: 5g question

Quote:
Originally Posted by trublue View Post
Thanks, Ben,as I mentioned earlier,the checker does open highlighting 4g,but it allows you to move down to 5g which also shows available.No biggie,I will wait until it fully arrives in my area.
Did you use the Mobile account coverage checker link, or the link posted by pip08456?
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:51.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.