Cable Forum

Cable Forum (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/index.php)
-   Networking (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/forumdisplay.php?f=87)
-   -   10 meg cable modem (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/showthread.php?t=51507)

aymski 21-08-2006 17:41

10 meg cable modem

Hi,

recently purchased 10mb broadband but they supplied me with webstar 2100 rev 1 which is not capable of recieving speeds greater than 5meg. They will eventually supply with right modem, in mean time i am looking for a wireless router capable of 10meg, which is best? i am new to dsl , been using adsl since it came out, ne advice, and place to buy appreciated

SnoopZ 21-08-2006 17:43

Re: 10 meg cable modem

Is it NTL 10mbit you're on? As you've posted in the Ntl section. The reason i ask is the Webstar isn't an NTL modem. I'd recommend the Linksys WRT54GS if you're on NTL.

[edit] i guess this needs to be moved to the DSL section.

aymski 21-08-2006 20:49

im actually on tw blueyonder ,will it make a difference?

SnoopZ 21-08-2006 21:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by aymski
im actually on tw blueyonder ,will it make a difference?

I'd suggest the Linksys WRT54GS then. When buying a router you have to becareful to get one for cable or ADSL. As you're on cable then you want something like that Linksys.

mcmanic 22-08-2006 08:05

i brought that linksey yesterday for my NTL connection (wired) and xbox360 (wireless)+2 Nintendo DS (wireless) + soon to appear Nintendo Wii (wireless)

works a treat and very, very easy to setup

aymski 22-08-2006 18:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by SnoopZ
I'd suggest the Linksys WRT54GS then. When buying a router you have to becareful to get one for cable or ADSL. As you're on cable then you want something like that Linksys.

hi i have purchased this router today, however it still requires me to connect my exsisting modem to it...how will this help if my current modem is not capable of recieving anything above 5mb???!?!?

SnoopZ 22-08-2006 18:59

Quote: